720 – Andrew Phelps

The “720″ series by Andrew Phelps blends art & sport, a gentle surrealism, abandoned buildings, found objects and signage of living. All of what I believe in and what stirs me for whatever reasons. The liner notes “It is so quiet here” by Sebastien Zanella sum it up. And if you want to buy that feeling, get the series at Brunnhofer Galerie Linz or the newspaper re-edition 2012 of the self-published and sold out catalogue from 2010.

DIY skatespots – Richard Gilligan

The first extensive documentation of DIY skatespots, a photo book by Richard Gilligan published by 1980 editions Paris. The limited edition of 30 (signed and with a print of the image you see above) is still available. Highly recommend though of course some interesting DIY spots are missing. Due to Richard^s “democratic editing process” of which you can read in this interview.

Asphalt needed

Isn’t it time to enlive the International fairground centre in Tripoli/Lebanon with some asphalt? What do you think, Oscar Niemeyer?

The beast

Praise the beast.

Full bleed – New York skateboard photography

The book ‘Full bleed – New York skateboard photography’ has been out for a while. What makes it so good is, it shows the multiple facets of skateboarding: The characters, the spots, the side action, the tricks, the fashion, and the city that is New York. All of which is constantly changing is archived in this compendium. There would be one thing to make it better: More background info about the photos and an easier way to interrelate the info with the pages, since the numeration is missing. Have a look inside.

Galleria Tvojanedelja

New location soon – Tvojanedelja / Ljubljana.

Have a good day, sir

Catch the friendly fire of Dave Ackels’ skate vid series named “Absorb”.

Tristan Still

‘Beg, Borrow, Steal’ by Australian photographer Tristan Still – documenting people’s DIY skate ramps – built in their lounge rooms, bedrooms, kitchens, backyards and other repurposed spaces. See some pics from the show at Ambush Gallery.

Skateboarding in Uganda

These kids from the Uganda Skateboard Union definitely feel asphalt. After building their own structures near Kampala/Uganda “the elder ones use this sport as a means of communication within their community to transmit values as respect and solidarity.” Quote from the ’Kitintale’ folder from Yann Gross. More photos of the spots and skateboarders here. Also go for the videos.

zine*fair

 

Zine*fair – inexpensively produced and sold, self-published, small circulation, passionate – vienna, austria – sat.18 sept -> Kunsthalle.

Exhibitors:
1/2 http://www.undemi.fr
4478zine http://www.4478zine.com
And he said: I dont´t worry about dying, I just worry about this sunshine girl http://www.stoebich.blogspot.com/
Eric Andersen http://www.gowiththeguts.com/shop/EA4.html
Available for Free http://evan-roth.com/available-online-for-free.php
azple http://www.azple.com/
bankleer http://www.bankleer.org
Bedfordpress http://www.bedfordpress.org
Beton Blumen http://www.betonblumen.org
Linda Bilda http://grrrlzines.net/interviews/nocomics.htm
Black pages http://www.blackpages.at/
BLU http://www.blublu.org/sito/updates/updates.htm
Chicago – Times – Plotter (…) Paper – Libertine – Trixie http://www.theselection.net/zeitschrift/
Das Viadukt http://dasviadukt.at/
Eastern/Western Canadian Book of Drawing http://easternwesterncanadian.tumblr.com/
edition-fästing-plockare http://edition-fasting-plockare.ch
Editions fpcf http://www.editionsfpcf.com/
EINE http://www.eine.at/
Elend und Vergeltung http://www.myspace.com/elendundvergeltung
Für Immer. http://www.fuerimmer-forever.com/
Good Morning Light http://www.goodmorninglight.com/
Go With The Guts.com http://www.gowiththeguts.com/
GRRRR Ingo Giezendanner http://www.grrrr.net
GLW/DRK Magazine http://www.glwdrk.com
Hellotrudi http://www.hellotrudi.com/713.html
Je suis une bande de Jeunes http://www.jesuisunebandedejeunes.com
Kaugummi http://kaugummi.fr/catalogueszines.html
Rudi Klein http://www.kleinteile.at
Kodoji press http://www.kodoji.com/
Andy Leikauf http://www.andreasleikauf.net
Monochrom http://www.monochrom.at/
motmot http://www.motmotshop.com
motto distribution http://www.mottodistribution.com
Nieves http://www.nieves.ch
Occulto http://www.occultomagazine.com
Passenger Books http://www.passengerbooks.com
Pazmaker http://perrosnegros.info/
petunia
rap history http://www.glashaus.ch/index.php?subpage=content&projekte_id=10011
Rokko’s Adventures http://www.rokkosadventures.at/
Rollo Press™ http://www.rollo-press.com
Salon für Kunstbuch http://www.salon-fuer-kunstbuch.at/
Seems Books http://www.seemsbooks.com
Schnauzer publications http://www.schnauzer-publications.com
Turbo Magazine http://www.turbomag.ch/
(U)L.S http://www.un-limitedstore.com
Unser Magazin http://www.unsermagazin.net
Velos Touri http://www.velostouri.com
Sergej Vutuc http://www.sergejvutuc.com/index.php?/zine/self-publishing/
Wahre Koenige mit Link http://www.vesch.org/ArminLorenzGerold/index.html
We used to dream http://stoebich2.blogspot.com/
White Columns http://www.whitecolumns.org
You can keep tomorrow http://stoebich3.blogspot.com/

Next Page »